Australian Game Developer Awards

The Australian Game Developer Awards are the annual national industry awards for games developed by Australian game developers. The Awards are managed by the Game Developers’ Association of Australia (GDAA), with nominations encouraged in the lead-up to the Game Connect: Asia Pacific 2017 Conference (GCAP2017). Nominations close on 2 September 2017 at 6pm (AEST). No submissions will be received or acknowledged after this date.

Submit your game to the 2017 Australian Game Developer Awards!

Digital games that have been developed in Australia and released between 1 September 2016 and 1 October 2017 are eligible for nomination. If a game has not been released, but is substantially feature-complete and intended for release within THREE months of the AGDA Ceremony, it is eligible for nomination. Games must be intended for release or released to the public either digitally or physically, and must not be specific location-based.

Applicants must make release versions of the game available to each member of the Awards Committee (approx. EIGHT) in either physical form or code for digital download.

Games that were nominated in previous years are not eligible for re-nomination.

To be eligible, more than 50% of the game must have been developed in Australia.

Eligible nominators must provide valid contact information.

The nominee or a representative must be present at the Australian Game Developer Awards night on Wednesday, 25th October to accept the award.

The Australian Game Developer Awards are about peer recognition and rewarding excellence and innovation in games. There are no fees or costs associated with making nominations.

All winners will be selected by the Australian Game Developer Awards Committee based on nominations received during the nomination period. The Award Committee comprises external experts, with a strong knowledge of the game development industry.

This year, we have removed the traditional categories. 8 games worthy of recognition in different ways will be chosen by the judges, including a Game of the Year. Creative fields such as ours are messy, and sometimes games don’t fit within the neat categories we like to put them into. Games will still be judged on a variety of different criteria including artistic aesthetic, audio, technical excellence, etc. but will primarily be judged by the whole rather than specific parts.

Judges will rate each nominated submission based on a qualitative review process, after which an algorithm then creates an average of the scores submitted by judges after standardisation, correcting for any judges who score lower or higher on average.

Awards Committee members shall have no pecuniary or other interest in a nominee, or if so will disclose this interest and abstain from any votes.

The decisions of the Awards Committee are final and no correspondence will be entered into.


Studio of the Year
This award honours the studio that best represents the Australian industry, through talent, innovation, success, and community spirit.

The Adam Lancman Award
The Adam Lancman Award (community recognition) honours an individual or individuals who have helped the game industry advance to a better place, either through facilitating a better game community from within, or by reaching outside the industry to be an advocate for video games and help further our art.

Rising Star
The Rising Star Award honours those who have made significant contributions to the Australian Games Industry in the past 1 – 3 years. They have become invaluable members to the community and show great talent in their field and constantly facilitate a better game community.

Game of the Year
This award honours the best game to come out of Australia in 2017. Criteria for GOTY include innovation and/or originality, unique gameplay features, presentation, and production value and quality.

AGDA Award Winners
Seven titles will be recognised as AGDA Award Winners, based on their own unique qualities. Judges will be looking at visual aesthetic, design and innovation, technical excellence, audio and compositional aesthetic, narrative, accessibility and representation. We want to reward outstanding achievement for whole products, and understand that sometimes exceptional games do not fall inside neat categories.

The 2017 Australian Game Developer Awards will take place on October 25th at 7pm, address TBA. Dress code is between smart casual to formal!

Entrance to the AGDAs is only for GCAP full ticket holders who are 18+. Ensure you bring your GCAP pass or you will be denied entrance! GCAP Student and GCAP Loading passes do not include access to the AGDAs.